Exceptional, Outstanding & Remarkable Price Point Wines in 2017

In 2017 I was fortunate enough to taste and appreciate over 1600+ wines. This is my yearly summation/recommendations and this year I have included a link to each winery. I believe whole heartily and stand by these picks, as all wines from each of the categories are in my cellar.
While most were significantly wonderful wines, some five stood out and were rated as EXCEPTIONAL CALIFORNIA WINES and should be sought after and tasted ASAP for your enjoyment. Each would enhance your wine cellar or experience with friends. These wines can be secured from the wineries listed based upon availability.
Another 31 wines were rated OUTSTANDING CALIFORNIA WINES and provide an excellent wine for procuring and tasting. These wines represent some of best quality for California wines. Again most would be purchased at the winery only and based upon availability.
New this year based upon feedback are the TOP CALIFORNIA WINES WITH AN EXCEPTIONAL PRICE POINT for various varietals. These vines are markedly above average, unique in specific characteristics and should be tried soon. Also most of these would be sold at the winery only.
Also this year I also added some “OUT OF COUNTRY WINES” wines that made an impact on the palate, demonstrated a unique quality or provided a new twist on the varietal. Most of these wines can be procured at the listing provided at the bottom of the chart.
Enjoy these selections and may 2018 be prosperous and meaningful.
Slainte,
Michael Kelly
https://californiawinesandwineries.com

 

 

EXCEPTIONAL CALIFORNIA WINES OF 2017

Barnett Vineyards www.barnettvineyards.com 2013 Cabernet Franc $75*

Foretell Wines www.foretellwines.com 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon $150

O’Shaughnesssy Wines http://oshaughnessywinery.com 2014 Mt Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon $135

Outpost Wines www.outpostwines.com  2014 True Cabernet Sauvignon $125

The Grade Cellars www.thegradecellars.com2014 Cabernet Sauvignon, Winfield Vineyard $100*
* Per FTC disclosure: Wine purchased at industry discount
All other wines were purchased at retail or wine club prices.
OUTSTANDING CALIFORNIA WINES OF 2017

Alyris Vineyards http://alyrisvineyards.com/ 2014 Cabernet Sauvignon Take I $85*
Crocker & Starr www.crockerstarr.com 2013/Cabernet Franc $80
Croker & Starr www.crockerstarr.com 2014 Stone Place Cabernet Sauvignon $120
Entre Nous (no longer in business) 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon $160
Gracianna http://gracianna.com 2015 Pinot Noir, Reserve $72
Incendium Wines  www.incendiumwines.com/ 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon $70*
Keenan Winery www.keenanwinery.com 2013 Cabernet Franc $70
Kent Price Wines http://kentpricewines.com 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon Pulse $65*
Lange Twins Winery www.langetwins.com/ 2013 Teroldego, The Eighty Vineyards $50*
Larkmead Winery  http://www.larkmead.com  2012 Solari Cabernet Sauvignon $175
Las Positas Vineyards www.laspositasvineyards.com 2013 Tempranillo $42*
Lineage www.lineagewine.com  2007 “Bordeaux Blend” $165
Lost Blues http://www.lostblues.us/  2014″Walking Boss” Syrah $43
Meyers Vineyard www.hestan.com  2014 Cabernet Sauvignon $70*
Mia Nipote http://www.mianipote.com 2014 Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon $47
Paloma Vineyard http://www.palomavineyard.com/  2013 Merlot, Spring Mtn $58
Peter Michael Winery www.petermichaelwinery.com  2011 Mon Plasir Chardonnay $90
Revana www.revanawine.com  2014 Cabernet Sauvignon $150
Sarocka www.sarockawine.com 2014 Cabernet Sauvignon $125
Shadybrook Estate www.shadybrookestate.com  2014 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon $125*
Sherwin Family Vineyard www.sherwinfamilyvineyards.com 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon $110*
Skipstone Ranch www.skipstoneranch.com  2010 Faultline Cabernet Sauvignon $125
Steven Kent Winery www.stevenkent.com 2009 Premier Cabernet Sauvignon $100
Stuhlmuller Vineyards www.stuhlmullervineyards.com  2014 Cabernet Sauvignon Block11 $75
Switchback Ridge www.switchbackridge.com  2013 Cabernet Sauvignon $90
Tate Wine https://tatewine.vinespring.com 2015 Mt Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon $75*
Terra Valentine www.terravalentine.com 2014 Cabernet Franc $60
Thomas George Winery www.thomasgeorgeestate.com 2014 Pinot Noir $75
Trespass Vineyards www.trespassvineyard.com 2012 Cabernet Franc $73
YoungInglewood Winery www.younginglewood.com  2013 Right Bank, Cabernet Sauvignon & Cabernet Franc $80
Zuidema Wine Company www.zuidemawines.com 2014 Grenache $40*
* Per FTC disclosure: Wine purchased at industry discount
All other wines were purchased at retail or wine club prices.

 

 

TOP CALIFORNIA WINES FOR AN EXCEPTIONAL PRICE POINT

Anaba Wines https://www.anabawines.com  2014 Chardonnay Sonoma Coast $36*
Audelyn www.audelynwines.com  2015 Pinot Noir $35*
Ayrael Vieux www.ayraelvieux.com/ 2015 Montepulciano $26*
Inkblot www.michaeldavidwinery.com 2014 Cabernet Franc $35*
Jeff Runquist Winery www.rundquistwines.com 2015 Petite Sirah $40*
Lange Twins www.langetwins.com/ 2014 Nero d’ Avola $20*
Matt Parish https://us.nakedwines.com/producers/matt-parish 2015 Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon $39*
Mer Soleil http://www.mersoleilvineyard.com  2016 Chardonnay $32
Prospect 772 www.prospect772.com 2015 Black Tie Charlie, 50% Petite Sirah & 50% Syrah $27
Tate Wine https://tatewine.vinespring.com  2016 Spring Street Chardonnay $34*
Wood Family Vineyards www.woodfamilyvineyards.com  2016 “Para Mas Amigas” Chardonnay $28*
* Per FTC disclosure: Wine purchased at industry discount
All other wines were purchased at retail or wine club price

 

TOP “OUT OF COUNTRY” WINES for 2017

Alaya Tierra 2014 Garnacha Tintorera, Spain $40
Chene Bleu 2009, “Abelard”, Ventoux, France $103
El Nido 2015 Clio, Jumilla, Monastrell, Spain $43
Domain Jomain 2011 “Les Perrieres”, Puligny-Montrachet, Burgundy, France $95
Domain Grand Veneur 2015 “Vieilles Vignes” , Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France $130
Finca Sobereno 2014, Tinta de Toro, Spain $40
Giuseppe Lonardi 2010 Amarone, Italy $62
Koyle 2013 Alto Colchagua, Cabernet Franc, Chile $25
Marina Cvetic 2013 Montepulicano d’ Abruzzo, Italy $33
Vatan 2014 Tinta de Toro, Spain $40

Per FTC disclosure: All wines above purchased at retail or club prices.
Note: many of the “Out of Country” wines may be purchased at the
Wine Steward at http://thewinesteward.com