2015 Top Wines List

During 2015, I have tasted over 1,000 wines. The stand out “best wines” are listed below from my perspective. My preferred varietals are big and bold Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Chardonnay. But a few blends and even a Grenache and Merlot made the cut. None of these will disappoint.  Michael Kelly’s Best Wines of 2015 (alphabetical order)

Winery Year/Varietal Rating List Price Winemaker Website (click on text)
Coup de Foudre 2012 Cab Sauv Estate 98 WE 95 John Schwartz coupdefoudrewine.com
Crocker & Starr 2012 Cab Franc NYR 80 Pam Starr crockerstarr.com
Crocker & Starr 2012 Malbec & Cab Franc Blend 94 RP 80 Pam Starr crockerstarr.com
Detert 2012 Cab Franc NYR 80 Tom Garrett detert.com
Entre Nous 2012 Cab Sauv NYR 155 Philippe Melka entrenouswines.com
Husic Vineyards 2010 Cabernet Sauv 99 WE 110 Michael Hirby husicvineyards.com
Keever 2012 Cab Sauv 95 WS 110 Celia Welch keevervineyards.com
Lail Vineyards 2012 Cab Sauv Blueprint 94 WS 80 Philippe Melka lailvineyards.com
O’Shaughnessy 2012 Cab Sauv Mt Veeder 97 RP 120 Sean Capiaux oshaughnessywinery.com
Outpost 2012 Cab Sauv True 99 RP 125 Thomas Rivers Brown outpostwines.com
Peter Michael 2013 Chardonnay La Carrière 92 RP 95 Nicolas Morlet petermichaelwinery.com
Shadybrook 2012 Cab Sauv 93 W&S 85 Rudy Zuidema shadybrookestate.com
Shafer 2010 Hillside Select  100 AG 300+ Doug Shafer shafervineyards.com
Tate 2014 Chardonnay Spring Street NRY 32 David Tate tatewine.com
Trespass 2012 Cab Franc NYR 80 Kirk Venge trespassvineyard.com
YoungInglewood 2012 Cab Sauv Estate 91 WS 90 Scott Young younginglewood.com
Note: NYR==Not Yet Rated
 

 

 

 

Unique & Worthy of buying 
 
Top Wines 2015 Year/Varietal Rating List Price Winemaker Website (click on text)
Alyris Vineyards 2013 Cab Sauv Audition Take 1 NYR 85 Rudy Zuidema alyrisvineyards.com
Blackbird 2012 Cab Franc & Cab Sauv Blend “Contrarian” 93 WS 125 Aaron Potts blackbirdvineyards.com
Conn Creek 2013 Cab Franc NYR 50 Mike McGrath conncreek.com
Coup de Foudre 2012 Cab Sauv Estate 98 WE 95 John Schwartz coupdefoudrewine.com
Crocker & Starr 2013 Sauv Blanc NYR 30 Pam Starr crockerstarr.com
Hill Family Estate 2013 Chardonnay Reserve NYR 65 Alison Doran hillfamilyestate.com
Incendium 2013 Cab Sauv Premiere NYR 65 Vince Kalny incendiumwines.com
Larkin 2013 Cab Franc 92 RP 75 Jack Larkin larkinwines.com
Mer Soleil 2013  Chardonnay Reserve NYR 35 Charlie Wagner mersoleilvineyard.com
Meyer Vineyard 2012 Cab Sauv NYR 60 Jeff Gaffner hestanvineyard.com
Mia Nipote 2010 Cab Sauv NYR 39 Chad Alexander mianipote.com
Mountain Terraces 2012 Cab Sauv “Lex’s” NYR 90 Steve Ledson mountainterraces.com
O’Shaughnessy 2013 Chardonnay NYR 50 Sean Capiaux oshaughnessywinery.com
O’Shaughnessy 2012 Cab Suav Howell Mtn 95 AG 90 Sean Capiaux oshaughnessywinery.com
Outpost 2013 Grenache NYR 65 Thomas Rivers Brown outpostwines.com
Steven Kent 2012 Cab Sauv “The Premier Series” NYR 100 Steven Kent Mirassou stevenkent.com
Switchback Ridge 2013 Merlot 95 RP 58 Bob Foley switchbackridge.com
Switchback Ridge 2013 Cab Sauv 96 RP 90 Bob Foley switchbackridge.com
Wood Family 2013 Cab Sauv “Especial” NYR 52 Rhonda Wood woodfamilyvineyards.com
Wood Family 2014 Chardonnay “Para Mas Amigas” NYR 28 Rhonda Wood woodfamilyvineyards.com
Note: NYR==Not Yet Rated